• Monk Botanical Gardens

    • Non-Profits
    • Education
    • Individual Memberships
    • Accepts Chamber Gift Certificates
    • Event Venue
    1800 N 1st Ave
    Wausau, WI 54401
    (715) 261-6309
    Hours:
    Dawn to Dusk - 7 Days a Week
    • About

      The Monk Botanical Gardens occupy a 21-acre property on the West Side of Wausau, Wisconsin, at 1800 N. First Ave. They are named for the family of the late Robert W. Monk, who donated the land for development of an outstanding public garden. Officially incorporated as a nonprofit institution in 2003, the Monk Botanical Gardens seeks to promote understanding of the aesthetic, economic, and ecological role of plants. A board of directors oversees the development and management of the Gardens.

      Since the creation of the site, many improvements have been made to the property through generous donations of time, talent, and funds. The Wildflower Woods and Memory Garden, and the spectacular Treehouse in the Piney Woods, have been completed, and the Kitchen Garden and “Potager” and Meditation Garden are nearing completion. Through the cooperation of city and county government, the site has sewer, water, and electricity. An irrigation system has been installed.

      Thousands of children, students, and adults currently participate in events all year long at the Gardens. We are an official Monarch butterfly, chimney swift and geocaching site.

      The gate is latched to keep out the deer, but never locked. Open dawn to dusk, every day. Free; contributions appreciated.

    • Member Events

      Sunday Jul 8, 2018 - Sunday Aug 26, 2018
      Saturday Jul 21, 2018
      Tuesday Jul 24, 2018
      Each session will be an adventure with nature, using the alphabet as a guide. We will highlight a letter or two as we engage in hands-on nature activities. ...read more
      Monday Aug 6, 2018
      Sunday Aug 12, 2018
      Play, learn and explore as a family in the Gardens. Each week we will explore a new topic including gardening, wildlife, bugs, birds, native plants, and more. ...read more
      Monday Aug 13, 2018
      Tuesday Aug 14, 2018
      Each session will be an adventure with nature, using the alphabet as a guide. We will highlight a letter or two as we engage in hands-on nature activities. ...read more
      Monday Aug 20, 2018
      Monday Aug 27, 2018
      Tuesday Aug 28, 2018
      Each session will be an adventure with nature, using the alphabet as a guide. We will highlight a letter or two as we engage in hands-on nature activities. ...read more
      Friday Aug 31, 2018
      Want to explore and learn about the gardens at your own pace? ...read more
      Monday Sep 3, 2018
      Thursday Sep 6, 2018
      Sunday Sep 9, 2018
      Play, learn and explore as a family in the Gardens. Each week we will explore a new topic including gardening, wildlife, bugs, birds, native plants, and more. ...read more
      Monday Sep 10, 2018
      Tuesday Sep 11, 2018
      Each session will be an adventure with nature, using the alphabet as a guide. We will highlight a letter or two as we engage in hands-on nature activities. ...read more
      Tuesday Sep 11, 2018
      Each session will be an adventure with nature, using the alphabet as a guide. We will highlight a letter or two as we engage in hands-on nature activities. ...read more
      Saturday Sep 15, 2018
      Sunday Sep 16, 2018
    • Whom to Contact

    • Directions

      Take First Avenue all the way to its northern end and you're at our gate. Or, go east or west on Campus Drive and turn north on First Avenue one block to our gate.

    • Upcoming Chamber Events